Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     


a Studio release

Release Year: 1973

Date Label Catalog # Comments
1973 LP
Debut release
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 6/6/2003 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 2/6/2016 2:47:00 AM by: DBSilver
  1. Rubber Bullets (5:16)
  2. Donna (2:55)
  3. Johnny, Don't Do It (3:39)
  4. Sand in My Face (3:38)
  5. Speed Kills (3:50)
  6. The Dean and I (3:04)
  7. Ships Don't Disappear in the Night (3:05)
  8. The Hospital Song (2:43)
  9. Fresh Air for My Mama (3:05)
  10. Headline Hustler (3:31)

CD Bonus Tracks:

  1. Hot Sun Rock (3:01)
  2. 4% of Something (4:01)
  3. Rubber Bullets (4:08)
  4. Waterfall (3:43)
  5. Bee in My Bonnet (2:01)
Graham Gouldman
Guitar, Bass, Dobro, Tambourine, Vocals
Eric Stewart
Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals, Moog Synthesizer, Slide Guitar
Lol Creme
Guitar, Percussion, Piano, Guitar, Keyboards, Electric Piano, Vocals, Moog Synthesizer, Mellotron
Kevin Godley
Percussion, Drums, Vocals

Reviewed by Eric on 14 Oct 2004

And so the legend begins. Hailed by critics on both sides of the ocean at the time of it’s release as the biggest band to come out Britain since The Beatles and Rolling Stones. This is an important album, again showing just how creative pop music can be, but knowing just how deep the members of 10cc were involved in the pop music scene all the way back to the early 60’s, it shouldn’t have come as a surprise.
Rubber Bullets, Donna, Speed Kills and The Dean and I are classic 10cc, but even if you are not a fan, or have never heard the band, for the uninitiated, it’s hard to imagine not getting caught up in the records sound, style and yes-parody. 10cc created thinking man’s pop and their debut is one of the greatest in rock history. I don’t make statements like this very often.