Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

1 selections as Proggnosis Best of 2023 Release

Closure / Continuation - Live Amsterdam 07/11/22

a Live Video release
Porcupine Tree

Release Year: 2023

Date Label Catalog # Comments
08 Dec 2023 Sony Music 19658830399 4xLP (Clear), 4xLP Clear+ Blu-ray+DVD, 2xBlue-ray, 4xCD, 4xLP+4xCD, 2xBlu-ray, 2xCD+Blu-ray.

Recorded at Amsterdam’s 17,000 capacity Ziggo Dome on 7 Nov 2022

The set includes tracks from comeback album Closure/Continuation plus classic PT pieces such as Trains, Fear of a Blank Planet and Anesthetize.

Steven Wilson Composer, Lyricist, Mixing Engineer
Gavin Harrison  Composer, Lyricist, Mixing Engineer
Ian Bond Recording Engineer

2 CD's (full live show) in a 12" gatefold sleeve and 2 Blu-ray discs in a 12" gatefold sleeve with 60 page 12" book all housed in a slipcase.
Blu-ray 1 - Concert Film in stereo, 5.1 surround, Dolby Atmos plus bonus material in stereo. The bonus content includes behind-the-scenes footage and interviews with Richard Barbieri, Gavin Harrison and Steven Wilson.
Blu-ray 2 - Audio Disc High resolution (Audio Only) Stereo (96/24), 5.1 surround (96/24), Dolby Atmos (48/24).

Added To Proggnosis Database on: 11/6/2023 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 12/30/2023 3:03:00 AM by: Rob
  1. Blackest Eyes
  2. Harridan
  3. Of the New Day
  4. Rats Return
  5. Even Less
  6. Drown With Me
  7. Dignity
  8. The Sound Of Muzak
  9. Last Chance To Evacuate Planet Earth Before It Is Recycled
  10. Chimera’s Wreck
  11. Fear of a Blank Planet
  12. Buying New Soul
  13. Walk The Plank
  14. Sentimental
  15. Herd Culling
  16. Anesthetize
  17. I Drive The Hearse
  18. Sleep Together
  19. Collapse the Light Into Earth
  20. Halo
  21. Trains

Steven Wilson
Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards

Richard Barbieri

Randy McStine

Nate Navarro

Gavin Harrison

Reviewed by Marc on 21 Dec 2023

Porcupine Tree were in Place Bell (in Laval near Montréal) in September 2022. I had watched a few videos of the band on their European section of the tour and I felt they were not up to the level they had the last time I caught them live. I did not get a ticket.

Having now listened to their new live album from that tour (and watched the video), I greatly regret skipping it last year. The band is as tight as it ever was and, in some ways, perhaps even better.

The setlist covers the new album in its entirety, with many of my favorite PT songs mixed in. I like the new album and the songs fit in very well with the older material. Visually the effects are simpler than some of the solo Seven Wilson tours, but very tastefull and sometimes spectacular. Wilson is in a communicative mood and more friendly than usual. The band is in top shape, Gavin Harrison being VERY impressive, even though he is now in his late 50's.

Perfectly filmed with incredible audio, for any Porcupine Tree fan this is a no-brainer. It may just be this great band's final testament. If so, they will certainly  leave us in style.


Discography Click to Expand...Close