Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Manifesto Of An Alchemist (Roine Stolt's The Flower King)

a Studio release
Roine Stolt

Release Year: 2018

Date Label Catalog # Comments
23 Nov 2018 InsideOut Music CD, CD ltd edition, 2xLP+CD, DIgital
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 9/13/2018 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 1/6/2019 2:43:00 PM by: DBSilver
  1. Rainsong
  2. Lost America
  3. Ze Pawns
  4. High Road
  5. Rio Grande
  6. Next to a Hurricane
  7. The Alchemist
  8. Baby Angels
  9. Six Thirty Wake-Up
  10. The Spell of Money

Roine Stolt
lead vocals, guitars, keyboards

Hasse Fröberg (Hans)
guitars, vocals

Jonas Reingold

Michael Stolt
bass, vocals


Marco Minnemann: drums, vocals
Max Lorentz: Hammond Organ
Zach Kamins: keyboards
Rob Townsend: sax, flute, percussion & vocals
Nad Sylvan: backing vocals

Reviewed by Marc on 29 Nov 2018

I used to be a huge Flower Kings fan, but after three or four albums I gradually got less interested. The least that can be said is that Roine Stolt as been involved in a large number of musical projects. Personnally I never got into them as much as I did with his early FK records (the first Transatlantic album being an exception).

I can't say I was expecting to be blown away by this new record, but I could not help myself from hoping that it would maybe feature the Roine Stolt of old.

After listening to the first half of Manifesto Of An Alchemist I pretty much felt my wish had come true. Great mid-lenght songs, Stolt has not sung better in 20 years, his guitar playing sounds fresh, Hans Föberg's backing vocals are on the spot, Marco Minneman's drums are excellent and I do not miss Thomas Bodin at all, the keyboards sounding like his, but without the quikiness that eventually got on my nerves. 

The second half of the album is more jazzy and experimental, closer to post 00's Flower Kings. Not bad at all, but I'm not as hooked as with the first part of the album.

The trend now days is to make 35 to 40 minutes long albums. If that had been the case, Manifesto Of An Alchemist would have been on my top 10 Prof album list of 2018.

Still, Flower Kings fans should be pleased.