Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

1 selections as Proggnosis Best of 2018 Release

Rise of a New Ideology

a Studio release
Zombie Picnic

Release Year: 2018

Date Label Catalog # Comments
09 Mar 2018 Golden Shred Records GSR8 LP Available on lacquer-mastered 140g black vinyl. A strictly limited edition of 250.
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 1/20/2018 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 2/2/2018 12:16:00 PM by: Marc
Side A
  1. Democracy Cannot Survive (9:00)
  2. They See Science As Dangerous (9:09)
Side B
  1. DEFCON (5:01)
  2. Life Support Systems (4:50)
  3. See Beyond (5:53)
  4. Anger In Storage (Denial Will Follow) (3:19)

Brian Fitzgerald

James Griffin

Brendan Miller

Dave Tobin

Reviewed by Marc on 02 Feb 2018

With Rise of a New Ideology Zombie Picnic have given us a Pink Floyd inspired instrumental album  (circa ''Echoes'') that should really please fans of the genre.

All the musicians involved are excellent but to me the king of the show is guitarist James Griffin. He puts fealing before technical performance in his guitar playing, even though he is also excellent on that level.

The album consists of two longer tracks and four others in the three to five minutes range. Comparing Zombie Picnic to Pink Floyd is somewhat reductive. The band has its own sound, pretty raw, that gives Rise of a New Ideology a live recording feeling.

I highly recommend Zombie Picnic's new album to fans of Pink Floyd or mid 90's Porcupine Tree. Great stuff!!