Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

"Sehr Kosmich" "Ganz Progisch"

a Studio release

Release Year: 2017

Date Label Catalog # Comments
26 May 2017 Apollon Records APR004 CD, LP

Press Release:

“Sehr Kosmisch Ganz Progisch” by Weserbergland is an homage to the seventies krautrock scene seen through the eyes of Ketil Vestrum Einarsen. Ketil is a veteran flutist of the Norwegian Progrock scene, having been a part of White Willow for almost 20 years. He has also been a member of Jaga Jazzist and played on more than fifty albums, with bands like Motorpsycho and Geir Lysnes Listening Ensemble. As a composer, he has written music for 10 documentaries and one TV series (all of this together with Lars Fredrik Frøislie( Wobbler, White Willow etc)

“Sehr Kosmisch Ganz Progisch” is Ketil debut as a band leader. He has been a kraut rock enthusiast since he discovered the music through the record collection of his friend´s hippie father in the early 90s, so to take this musical turn was a very natural thing him. And it´s quite easy to hear the inspiration of bands like Tangerine Dream, Can, Cluster, Harmonia et cetera. But it´s not a retro sounding album, the sound is also influenced by Ketils former band, Jaga Jazzist and similar bands, and of course there´s a huge dosis of 70s era progressive rock in there.

The result is a very unique and demanding album. The simplicity of krautrock is juxtaposed or mixed with a complete sensory overload of multitracking, heavy use of effects and compositional techniques from contemporary or classical music.

Ketil plays the flute, clarinet, guitar, keyboards and provides programming. Mattias Olsson of Änglagård fame 

Added To Proggnosis Database on: 3/30/2017 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 3/30/2017 8:56:00 AM by: DBSilver
  1. Tanzen und Springen
  2. Das Trinklied vom Jammer der Erde
  3. Kunst Der Fuge
  4. Tristrant

Ketil Vestrum Einarsen: Flute, Clarinet, Keyboads, guitars, programming

Gaute Storsve
Bass and guitar

Jacob Holm-Lupo
Bass and guitar

Mattias Olsson: Drums and percussion


Lars Fredrik Frøislie
Stephen James Bennet
Tetsuroh Konishi
Lars Horntveth
Erik Johannessen
Brynjar Dambo
Roger Langvik
Einar Baldurson