Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     


a Studio release
Lost Kite

Release Year: 2016

Date Label Catalog # Comments

Release on March 19, 2016

Added To Proggnosis Database on: 3/26/2016 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 3/29/2016 7:01:00 AM by:
  1. Rise (7:25)
  2. Where Swallows Fly (10:08)
  3. Up And Down The Gravelpit (4:01)
  4. Selma By The Window (2:45)
  5. Old Limp Duck (1:58)
  6. Goat Island (3:52)
  7. Ma Fourmi Noire (3:41)
  8. Off-season Shores (1:24)
  9. Prayer (2:03)
  10. Remains (8:14)
  11. Winter's Presage (3:05)
  12. Dark Woods-Dawn Meadows (11:50)
  13. Seven Waves Apart (3:08)
David Carlsson
Acoustic and electric 12-string guitars, spanish guitar, piano, vocals.

Stefan Carlsson
Electric and acoustic 6-string guitars, bass, synthesizers, flute, tenor saxophone, bass and tenor recorders. All other woodwind played with Akai windsynthesizer. Vocals, electronic drums

Reviewed by Marc on 19 May 2016

With Remains Sweedish ''father/son'' duo Lost Kite remains pretty faithfull to their previous albums. Yet again, we get a mixture of tracks with vocals, and instrumentals. Some of the pieces are pretty intense, with influences from bands like Anekdoten and Anglagard. Others are very mellow, almost New Age in style. Anthony Phillips and Camel (circa Snow Goose) come to my mind. All these influences (and other Prog music from the 70's) are subtle and I certainly do not consider Lost Kite to be a clone band, because their mixture of genres and styles, with such a large spectrum, is pretty much unique.

Those into the bands and artists listed in this review should certainly give Remains by Lost Kite a chance. What we have here is a well written, performed and produced album of very good 70's inspired Prog music featuring a wide variety on genres.

Nice stuff indeed.