Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

1 selections as Proggnosis Best of 2015 Release

Victim of Your Father's Agony

a Studio release
Arabs in Aspic

Release Year: 2015

Date Label Catalog # Comments
10 Aug 2015 Black Widow Records Digital
23 Oct 2015 Black Widow Records BWRCD105 CD
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 8/24/2015 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 10/11/2023 5:53:00 AM by: DBSilver
  1. You Can Prove Them Wrong - 3:56
  2. Sad Without You - 3:25
  3. One - 6:12
  4. The Turk and the Italian Restaurant - 2:42
  5. God Requires Insanity - 8:21
  6. TV 3 - 1:39
  7. Flight of the Halibut - 4:08
  8. Saint-Palais-sur-Mer, pt. 2 - 1:04
  9. Victim of Your Father's Agony - 5:58
Jostein Smeby
guitar, vocals

Eskil Nyhus

Erik Paulsen
bass, vocals

Stig A. Jørgensen
organ, keyboards, vocals

Reviewed by DBSilver on 12 Aug 2017

Four odd things...

  • First, Arabs in Aspic are a Norwegian band.
  • Second, they are signed to the Italian label - Black Widow.
  • Three - they create music rooted in the early 1970's
  • Four - they are amoung the best things going ove the past 5 years

For someone who grew up in the 70'sthere is much familiar about this band's music. The style of hard rock underlying the band's songs, the Hammond Organ and Mellotron and the  total album lenght of 37 minutes all clearly come out of the early 70s'.  But being familiar does not mean music that is stale or in any way a retread.  Arabs in Aspic prove there is much new ground (and hopefuly new fans) to be gained from making music in this space.

I have read a lot of refernces to bands that others think they sound like.  Here is my take...  Listen to this ablum through a few times - you will hear things that bring to mind the best music of Uriah Heep (1972-1975), Pink Floyd (DSOTHM and earlier), Gypsy, Eloy (pre-1980).

Do call it  Hard Prog or Early Progressive - - but call it prog.

Three part vocals harmonies are present and the lead vocals are excellent and the band play and sing with great confidence.  The album has this great feeling of familiarity - like a classic comfort food that makes you think of home - but it is made with ingredients freshly picked from the garden and cooked together to make a delicious stew.

This is the band's sixth album already! - If you haven't heard them they really do require your attention.  Check this band out - BandCamp, Google Play Music, Spotify - or just take my word for it and buy the damn thing.