Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Of A Time

a Studio release
The Strawbs

Release Year: 2012

Date Label Catalog # Comments

Released in July 2012

Dave Cousins has lovingly recreated the original version of the first A&M Strawbs album which was presented to A&M but rejected.

Dave says:

The album falls in between 'All Our Own Work' - Sandy Denny and the Strawbs' and 'Strawbs'. We made our first single 'Oh How She Changed'/'Or Am I Dreaming' which persuaded A&M to sign us the first British band on the label. By that time Sandy Denny had already left the group.

Gus Dudgeon (producer) selected the best tracks from 'All Our Own Work' and had Tony Visconti orchestrate them. Gus did not plan on having the first single on the album. I have Gus's original track listing in his own handwriting.

A&M rejected the orchestral tracks as they thought we were a rock/folk band, not the Bee Gees! In the meantime Simon and Garfunkel had released 'Bookends' with speech bands, which was exactly what we were planning for our album. The album was abandoned.

I have now recreated it from the original tapes with speech bands and bonus tracks.


Added To Proggnosis Database on: 12/25/2012 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 12/25/2012 1:17:00 PM by: dBSilver
  1. Where Is This Dream Of Your Youth
  2. Poor Jimmy Wilson
  3. Just The Same In Every Way
  4. Tell Me What You See In Me
  5. Stay Awhile With Me
  6. The Man Who Called Himself Jesus
  7. And You Need Me
  8. All The Little Ladies
  9. Ah Me, Ah My
  10. And You Need Me (reprise)/ Josephine, For Better Or For Worse
  11. Whichever Way The Wind Blows
  12. Sweetling

  13. All I Need Is You
  14. How Everyone But Sam Was A Hypocrite

  15. Oh, How She Changed
  16. Or Am I Dreaming
  17. The Man Who Called Himself Jesus

  18. Whichever Way The Wind Blows
  19. And You Need Me
  20. Just The Same In Every Way

  21. Poor Old Man (read by Tom Browne)
  22. The Man Who Called Himself Jesus (Richard Wilson interview)
  23. Ed Sullivan (Tony Visconti impersonation)
  24. Young Again

Dave Cousins
vocals, acousticguitar

Tony Hooper
vocals, acousticguitar

Ron Chesterman
double bass


Nicky Hopkins: piano
Ray Cooper: marimba, vibes, spoons, percussion
Tony Visconti: recorders
John Paul Jones: electric bass
Ronnie Verrell: drums
Andy Newmark: drums
Alan Parker: lead guitar
Kenny Baker: Trumpet, flugelhorn
Nosrati and his band: Santoor, oud, kaman, darbukkah
Richard Wilson: shopkeeper
Tom Browne: interviews
Lionel Ross: orchestra leader
Members of the London Symphony Orchestra
The Ted Heath Band

Discography Click to Expand...Close