Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Timeless Island

a Studio release
Sombre Reptile

Release Year: 2012

Date Label Catalog # Comments

Released by Musea (FGBG 4894)

Added To Proggnosis Database on: 11/14/2012 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 3/27/2013 6:17:00 AM by:
  1. Out of the Jungle - 5:18
  2. In Course of Time - 8:07
  3. Captain Marvin Is Missing - 7:02
  4. Voices in a Labyrinth - 4:56
  5. Elektrosaz - 7:45
  6. In Search of a Timeless Island (Ankiv) - 1:33
  7. Timeless Island 1 (Restful Mind) - 7:43
  8. Timeless Island 2 (Another Coloured World) - 8:05
  9. Timeless Island 3 (Vikna) - 5:25
  10. On the Sunny Side of Time - 8:28

Jean-Paul Dedieu


Michel Dedieu

Pim Focken

Reviewed by Marc on 08 Apr 2013

Timeless Island by Sombre Reptile is an album of very slick and sophisticated Prog/Fusion/World/Ambient music. I am reminded of some of the instrumental pieces of 80's version King Crimson, but also the recent work of Steve Hackett and Djabe (with which Steve Hackett has often collaborated) the latter reference because of the arabic and oriental flavours of some of the pieces.

Sombre Reptile alternates, on this CD, energetic percussion driven pieces with some more ambient music, mostly based on layers of synthesised guitars (references to Robert Fripp and Steve Hackett) backed by waves of keyboards and "World" like percussion. Listening to Timeless Island in it's entirety makes for and interesting and coherent journey, the music being always interesting and quite original.

I certainly feel that fans of melodic and ambient Prog/Fusion and of the artists I have mentioned in this review should check Sombre Reptile's music out. Good stuff indeed.