Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Once In A Livetime

a Live release
Dream Theater

Release Year: 1998

Date Label Catalog # Comments
Dream Theater, part of the progressive rock and metal scene for over a decade, and a major force since vocalist James LaBrie joined the band in the early 90's. The band consisted of LaBrie, bassist John Myung, guitarist John Petrucci, drummer Mike Portnoy, and keyboardist Derek Sherinian. On this live double album, the five showcase their technical and artistic abilities.
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 12/20/2001 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 2/6/2015 9:39:00 PM by: DBSilver


  1. A Change Of Seasons I
  2. A Change Of Seasons II
  3. Puppies On Acid
  4. Just Let Me Breathe
  5. Voices
  6. Take The Time
  7. Keyboard Solo
  8. Lines In The Sand
  9. Scarred
  10. A Change of Seasons IV
  11. Ytse Jam
  12. Drum Solo


  1. Trial Of Tears
  2. Hollow Years
  3. Take Away My Pain
  4. Caught In A Web
  5. Lie
  6. Peruvian Skies
  7. Guitar Solo
  8. Pull Me Under
  9. Metropolis
  10. Learning To Live
  11. A Change of Seasons VII
James LaBrie
John Petrucci
Mike Portnoy
Derek Sherinian
John Myung

Reviewed by MJBrady on 20 Dec 2001

This is the second official live release by Dream Theater(The first being Live at the Marquis), and here the band was quickly becoming a large draw, enough so that they were able to move from a warm up act to a headline show. By this time they were able to put a full 2 cd set out of prior album material and give each musician spotlight solo segments. This is a unique album for the fact that you can hear them playing outside of the band format, and hear each members talents in an isolated setting. As for sound quality, this is very good, it seems technology has allowed live performances the sonic pristineness of studio quality.

Discography Click to Expand...Close