Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Experiments in Mass Appeal

a Studio release

Release Year: 2008

Date Label Catalog # Comments
2008 Inside Out Music IOMCD 303 CD
09 Jul 2021 CD (Remixed and Remastered)
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 10/19/2008 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 6/3/2021 12:02:00 PM by: DBSilver
  1. Experiments In Mass Appeal (8:00)
  2. Welcome To Nowhere (5:31)
  3. Pocket Sun (4:29)
  4. Saline (5:46)
  5. Dear Dead Days (6:50)
  6. Falling Down (5:49)
  7. You/I (0:45)
  8. Toys (3:03)
  9. Wonderland (6:00)
Jem Godfrey
keyboards, Piano, Vocals
John Mitchell
Electric Guitars, Violin, Vocals
John Jowitt
Bass Guitar
Andy Edwards
Declan Burke (Dec Burke)
Acoustic Guitars, Lead Vocals

Reviewed by Rob on 26 Feb 2010

After the succesfull release Milliontown in 2006 Frost releases this second album by Inside Out Records
Although released in 2008 the album was brought to my attention in 2009. At times this is a heavy-prog album with powerfull vocals (Declan Burke) and guitars (John Mitchel)
Tracks 1-2-3-5-6 remind me of the band Soundgarden in their best period. The ballad Saline as track 4 is a great song with multiple vocals. You I is a vocals/piano ballad in the best Britisch pop tradition. Toys is not as strong as previous songs. Unfortunatly the album turns less to the end.
To end the album and leave a good impression the band decided to end with a 15 minute track to impress the proggers among us. Wonderland is a great 7 minute song but for some reason they expanded the song with 8 minutes of samples/soundscapes to leave me confused.

Good: YES, Brilliant: No