Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Two For The Show (30th Anniversary Edition)

a Live release

Release Year: 2008

Date Label Catalog # Comments
This 30th anniversary release (of the original Two For The Show performances) contains the original tracks on CD 1 along with 9 additional tracks from the live recordings which are delivered on a second CD - CD 2.. With the exception of Down The Road, all of these new tracks have never previously been released. Down The Road was on the original Vinyl release but was left off of previous CD issues.
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 7/17/2008 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 2/5/2011 10:56:00 PM by: Rob
  1. Song For America (7:30)
  2. Point Of Know Return (3:07)
  3. Paradox (4:09)
  4. Icarus - Borne On Wings Of Steel (5:58)
  5. Portrait - He Knew (5:18)
  6. Carry On Wayward Son (4:38)
  7. Journey From Mariabronn (8:55)
  8. Dust In The Wind (6:17)
  9. Lonely Wind (4:29)
  10. Mysteries And Mayhem (4:00)
  11. Excerpt From Lamplight Symphony (2:38)
  12. The Wall (4:58)
  13. Magnum Opus (11.14)
  1. Hopelessly Human (8:44)
  2. Child Of Innocence (7:47)
  3. Belexes (4:34)
  4. Cheyenne Anthem (6:55)
  5. Lonely Street (8:20)
  6. Miracles Out Of Nowhere (7:59)
  7. The Spider (7:41)
  8. Closet Chronicles (6:55)
  9. Down The Road (3:44)
  10. Sparks Of The Tempest (5:19)
  11. Bringing It Back (7:07)
Kerry Livgren
Guitar, Keyboards
Steve Walsh
Keyboards, Vocals
Phil Ehart
Percussion, Drums
Dave Hope
Robbie Steinhardt
Violin, Vocals
Rich Williams

Reviewed by Marc on 12 Aug 2008

What can I say about Kansas? Arguably the top Prog band ever vn the USA. Their seventies and early eighties output can be compared to almost any Prog band without any shame.

Two For the Show lets us here them live in the peak of their long carreer. Many of the band's better tracks are on this CD. The performances are excellent, even though no overdubbing was done, so mistakes and slight slips can be heard. The second CD features unreleased stuff that is almost as interesting as the rest.

On the negative side, the packaging is OK but not spectacular and the sound is good but don't expect to be blown away by the remastering results. Still, even if you own the original copy of this concert, this 30th Anniversary Edition is worth purchasing because of the added material. Recommended.