Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     


a Studio release
Steve Howe

Release Year: 1976

Date Label Catalog # Comments
1976 LP
First solo release of Steve Howe
1975 LP Atlantic 18154
1995 CD Atlantic 7567803192
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 1/1/2004 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: by:
  1. Doors of Sleep
  2. Australia
  3. The Nature of the Sea
  4. Lost Symphony
  5. Beginnings
  6. Will O' the Wisp
  7. Ram
  8. Pleasure Stole the Night
  9. Break Away from It All
Steve Howe
Organ, Bass, Guitar, Mandolin, Pedal Steel Guitar, Harpsichord, Keyboards, Vocals, Moog Synthesizer
Bill Bruford,
Alan White,
David Oberle
Patrick Moraz
Piano, Keyboards
Bud Beadle
Alto & Baritone Saxophone
Mick Eve
Malcolm Bennett
Bass, Flute
James Gregory
Flute, Piccolo
Gwyn Brooke
Colin Gibson,
Chris Laurence
Patrick Halling,
William Reid,
Patrick Holling
Peter Halling,
Peter Molling
John Meck
Sidney Sutcliffe
Graeme Taylor
Sidney Satcliffe

Reviewed by Eric on 07 Mar 2005

I have always liked this album. OK, as Yes solo albums go, Chris Squire’s Fish Out Of Water stands head above shoulders, and perhaps someone should have taken Mr. Howe aside in the studio and told him that he is not exactly lead vocalist material? Whatever, the guy’s guitar playing is second to none and his influence on progressive rock is immeasurable and on instrumentals The Nature of the Sea and the baroque title track, Howe shines.
Everyone from Bill Bruford and Alan White to Patrick Moraz play on this album. No surprise, but Howe does experiment and try new things and for the most part it works. While not the greatest prog album, you could do far worse than Beginnings