Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Digital Pigeon

a Studio release

Release Year: 2007

Date Label Catalog # Comments
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 3/8/2007 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 8/9/2015 4:50:00 AM by: DBSilver
  1. Dark Side Of The Sun
  2. The Spectacle
  3. Spiders
  4. Ghost Town
  5. Armchair Voyager
  6. A Reptile Dysfunction
  7. You
  8. Calmsy Downsy
  9. On Second Thought
  10. Catwalk
  11. Funk Shui
  12. Lost In Transit
  13. Teen Town
  14. Move The Earth

Chris Cobel
keyboards, trumpets

Matt Sweitzer
guitars, bass, fretless bass, keyboards, percussion, drums

Greg Lounsberry
vocals (1, 4, 6, 11, 12), backing vocals, wind, end guitar solo (9, 12)

Brian Pierce
acoustic guitar

Tom Mattern
vocals (2, 5, 8, 14), flute, keyboards, bass, guitar, soprano sax, trumpet solo (11)

John Swope

Reviewed by Marc on 04 Apr 2007

This is an album I have enjoyed listening to from beginning to end. I had never heard of Canvas before I received Digital Pigeon but it was a nice surprise.

Sure the music on Digital Pigeon is more nostalgic than modern. The band that comes to my mind for most of the tracks is the seventies incantation of Camel. At times The Allan Parson's Project could also be mentioned as a reference, but I feel that Camel enthousiasts could really get into Digital Pigeon.

Like I wrote in the beginning of my review, all the tracks on Digital Pigeon are good, well performed and produced. The music is nostalgic but remains original. These guys are not copy cats. Some nice, intelligent, well written and composed music indeed. Recommended.