Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Arriving Somewhere

a Video release
Porcupine Tree

Release Year: 2006

Date Label Catalog # Comments
Dvd 1: live in park west chicago 2005 Dvd 2: german tv (rockpalast) material, clips + 5.1 surround recordings, photo gallery
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 10/20/2006 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 4/29/2018 6:53:00 AM by: DBSilver
  1. Revenant (3:04)
  2. Open Car (4:46)
  3. Blackest Eyes (4:41)
  4. Lazarus (4:06)
  5. Hatesong (9:14)
  6. Don't Hate Me (8:38)
  7. Mother and Child Divided (5:11)
  8. Buying New Soul (7:17)
  9. So Called Friend (4:55)
  10. Arriving Somewhere but Not Here (12:57)
  11. Heartattack in a Layby (4:07)
  12. Start of Something Beautiful (7:19)
  13. Halo (6:42)
  14. Sound of Muzak (5:14)
  15. Even Less (6:54)
  16. Trains (7:18)
  17. End Credits (special alternate mix of Mother and Child Divided) (2:05)
    DVD - 2
  1. Futite (6:29)
  2. Radioactive You (6:49)
  3. Lazarus Promo Clip
  4. Life Films For Start Of ; Something Beautiful
  5. Halo
  6. Mother & Child Divided
  7. Gavin Harrison Cymbal Song
  8. Photogallery
Steven Wilson
vocals, guitar
Colin Edwin
Richard Barbieri
Gavin Harrison
John Wesley Dearth
guitar, backing vocals

Reviewed by Others on 07 Jan 2007

Porcupine Tree is the best progressive rock band at this moment, at least in my humble opinion.
It is unbelievable that this band had and has so much trouble to set themselves in the USA. After so many great albums like In Absentia, Lightbulb sun and their latest Deadwing, which is the best album made in the last ten years, now there is a Live DVD. Recorded in Chicago 2005.

I saw them live in Holland with the same show, playing some extra songs, I was speechless, that good it was.
Steven Wilson’s voice is excellent, not like some other famous progband I have seen, where the vocals just disappointed me. He is a great performer, jumping up and down barefooted, still having good contact with the audience. The whole recording is a pleasure to watch, different angles, black and white. A lot of variation.
The songs are from the last few years, main thing is Deadwing and In Absentia. Technical very good, as usual, in combination with the emotional vocals, it just sounds fantastic. For me the band should add John Wesley as a permanent member of the band, not only as a touring member, his input on stage adds that little special extra.

The extra DVD is a concert filmed for the german TVshow “Rockpalast”, with some extra pictures and the live background video. Nice to watch, but not adding anything more to the package.

To be short, If you like Porcupine Tree, this DVD is a real MUST for you.
If you like progressive music, watch this one and you will certainly want to hear more music of this great band.

Discography Click to Expand...Close