Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

The Great Leap

a Studio release

Release Year: 2006

Date Label Catalog # Comments
Bloodfish records
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 9/23/2006 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 9/16/2011 1:11:00 AM by: Rob
  1. Wake Up (4:03)
  2. You And Me Against A World Of Pain (5:35)
  3. The Waiting (3:33)
  4. Abducted (6:10)
  5. Rainboy (6:15)
  6. I Was Thinking (4:24)
  7. Long And Lonely Way (4:18)
  8. They Hunt You Down (3:54)
  9. Tannisroot (4:52)
  10. One Star (5:14)
  11. Last (5:50)
Phideaux Xavier
Vocals, Elektric Sitar, Guitars, Nord Electro 2, Fender Rhodes, Autoharp, Bass
Rich Hutchins
Drums, Percussion
Ariel Farber
Violin, Vocals
Valerie Gracious
Molly Ruttan Moffat
Linda Ruttan Moldawsky
Gabriel Moffat
Guitar (4, 5)
    Arlan Shierbaum
    Hammond, Organ, Wurlitzer Piano, Clavinet, Minimoog, Piano, Synthesizer
    Probyn Gregory
    Theremin, Trompet, Fl├╝gelhorn, Waldhorn, Posaune
    Biker Helfrostt
    Joe Pusiteri
    Snare-Drum-Korps, Glocke (2)
    Stefanie Fife
    Scott Brannon Hammer-Hackbrett

Reviewed by Rob on 03 Apr 2008

From the artist: -The Great Leap- begins a trilogy of albums about life in a dystopic eclogically disintegrating world. In some regards this group of songs comments on forces that are already at work in our own society. Passionate, sad, angry and beautiful, this album is intended as both a balm and a sounding bell. -Will it be You against Them?-

Over 11 songs and 55 minutes, multi-instrumentalist-Composer-vocalist Phideaux Xavier, brings a good album in which lyrics are important and put a mirror to our faces. No long tracks but more REM/Radiohead/ Van der Graag stuff. For those fans this is one not to be missed