Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     


a Video release
Dream Theater

Release Year: 2006

Date Label Catalog # Comments
Dream Theater's latest live CD and DVD "SCORE" are released on Rhino Records and available as separate packages in a 3-CD and 2-DVD set.

Both versions will contain the entire "20th Anniversary World Tour" grand finale recorded live at Radio City Music Hall in New York City on April 1st 2006. (nearly 3 hours of music - over 90 minutes of which was performed with a full orchestra)

The DVD also contains a 1 hour Documentary tracking the entire career of the band from the very beginnings at the Berklee College Of Music in 1985 all the way to the Radio City Music Hall grand finale. Including rare never before seen footage and interviews with current and previous members of the band.

Also included on the DVD are several live Bonus Tracks from through the years taken from the Portnoy Archives.

Added To Proggnosis Database on: 7/27/2006 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 3/28/2018 2:17:00 PM by: DBSilver


  1. The Root Of All Evil
  2. I Walk Beside You
  3. Another Won
  4. Afterlife
  5. Under A Glass Moon
  6. Innovence Faded
  7. Raise The Knife
  8. The Spirit Carries On


  1. Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence:
    1. Overture
    2. About To Crash
    3. War Inside My Head
    4. The Test That Stumped Them All
    5. Goodnight Kiss
    6. Solitary Shell
    7. About To Crash (Reprise)
    8. Losing Time/Grand Finale Vacant
  2. The Answer Lies Within
  3. Sacrificed Sons
  4. Octavarium:
  5. Intro
    1. Someone Like Him
    2. Medicate Me
    3. Full Circle
    4. Intervals
    5. Razor's Edge
  6. Encore: Metropolis
John Petrucci
John Myung
Mike Portnoy
James LaBrie
Jordan Rudess

Reviewed by MJBrady on 02 Sep 2006

Dream Theater now seems to be releasing as many video recordings as they are studio releases of late. Score, the newest live collection, is a 2 dvd, 3 cd set, (at least my version). Contained is the band's 20th aniversary tour, which at points, particularly here in New York's Radio City Music Hall, they were accompanied with Orchestra, which is pretty cool stuff actually.

Of all the Dream Theater videos I have seen, which I believe is all of them to date, this one seems to have the best overall sound, for a couple reasons, one being James LaBrie was having an 'on' night, and that helps a lot, the other reason is that bassist John Myung is fully audible for once. I saw this tour live, and while the band is always very professional and ready to play for hours, Myung's bass work is merely visual, and hardly audible unless during the quieter moments where he is a central player. But the mix is well balanced and the visuals are very good, hard to improve on any one thing with Score.

The band's set list is thematic in that they are reliving their history from the bands onset as teenagers in the band Majestic up through the 90's and here with their most recent material. For long time fans of the band, the setlist is intersting, tapping a tune or two from most every recording, yet knowing many of the bands cds, you may be left wanting for more. Still, a nice revisit to what seems to have been 20 fast years. Also included on the video is a documentary on those same 20 years, which is very cool, interviews with current and former band members, and pretty much a full case history of the bands brightest and questionable moments.

While Dream Theater continues to release music that has hybridized progressive rock and metal music, they fully understand that they are a non-compromising band that will always try to push eachother to create music that will always be something their true fans will appreciate, and all along, while testing new boundaries, they seem to make new fans along the way. This is evident at the bands concerts, which are getting to be a sell-out wherever they are playing.

Discography Click to Expand...Close