Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Monday Morning Apocalypse

a Studio release

Release Year: 2006

Date Label Catalog # Comments
Inside/Out Records. Release April 4, 2006
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 2/23/2006 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: by:
  1. Monday Morning Apocalypse 03:11
  2. Unspeakable 03:55
  3. Lost 03:14
  4. Obedience 04:14
  5. The Curtain Fall 03:09
  6. In Remembrance 03:34
  7. At Loss For Words 04:14
  8. Till Dagmar 01:40
  9. Still In The Water 05:18
  10. The Dark I Walk You Through 04:20
  11. I Should 04:52
  12. Closure 03:09
Jonas Ekdahl
Tom S. Englund
Guitars, vocals
Henrik Danhage
Rikard Zander
Michael Håkansson

Reviewed by Ronald on 02 Apr 2006

This time around – the five-piece have just released their sixth album called “Monday Morning Apocalypse” – they went quite far off the beaten path. Less progressive, more direct, more compact and more contemporary are the keywords for this disc. Needless to say that yours truly – a prog frog and melody maniac in heart and soul – needed some time (read: spins) to get into this new Evergrey material. A little disappointed at first, I started to appreciate the band’s choice in the course of the listening process. Besides all said characteristics, the new material is also catchier, easy to digest and extremely powerful, which makes it ideal for car listening.

For the first time in Evergrey history, the band have outsourced the engineering process. The album was produced and mixed by the duo Sandquist and Glaumann, who have worked for colossuses as Def Leppard, Bon Jovi and Rammstein, which – besides the aforementioned powerful sound – probably also explains the frequent use of down-tuned guitars, at least for this band’s standards.In the best Evergrey tradition no weak pieces are in sight and sound and atmosphere are of the highest level.

I’m rating “Monday Morning Apocalypse” a little less than its predecessors because of the less melodic, down-tuned approach, but it is still highly recommended!