Proggnosis Artist-Release Details

ProGGnosis Quick Search:     

Halcyon Days

a Compilation/Boxed-Set release
The Strawbs

Release Year: 1997

Date Label Catalog # Comments
In the course of nine years, the Strawbs evolved from an obscure, quirky British bluegrass group into one of the most beloved progressive rock bands in the world. This 150-minute collection covers most of that history, encompassing most (but not all) of the key songs from their nine A&M albums, as well as lost B-sides, songs by ex-members Richard Hudson and John Ford, and a pair of tracks off of Dave Cousins' 1972 solo album Two Weeks Last Summer. The selection of material is inspired, juxtaposing rarities with a good deal of important music from the core of their output.
Added To Proggnosis Database on: 4/20/2001 12:00:00 AM
Entry Last Updated on: 1/8/2018 4:29:00 AM by: Rob
    CD 1
  1. Ghosts
  2. On Growing Old
  3. The Man Who Called Himself Jesus
  4. Stormy Down
  5. I Turned My Face Into The Wind
  6. Queen Of Dreams
  7. Witchwood
  8. Keep The Devil Outside
  9. The Hangman And The Papist
  10. Benedictus
  11. Golden Salamander
  12. Tokyo Rose
  13. Hero & Heroine
  14. Pick Up The Pieces
  15. Lay Down
  16. Ciggy Barlust
  17. Out In The Cold
  18. Round And Round
  19. Oh How She Changed
    CD 2
  1. Here It Comes
  2. Part Of The Union
  3. Tears And Pavan
  4. The River
  5. Down By The Sea
  6. Lay Down
  7. Autumn
  8. Hero And Heroine
  9. Midnight Sun
  10. Out In The Cold
  11. Round And Round
  12. Ghosts
  13. Lemon Pie
  14. Grace Darling
  15. To Be Free
  16. Hanging In The Gallery
  17. The Promised Land
Rick Wakeman
Organ, Piano, Celeste, Harpsichord, Moog Synthesizer, Mellotron
Dave Cousins
Dulcimer, Guitar, Banjo, Piano, Vocals
Miller Anderson
Roger Glover
Nicky Hopkins
Trevor Lucas
Tom Newman
Richard Hudson
Conga, Cymbals, Drums, Sitar, Vocals
John Paul Jones
Tom Allom
Ron Chesterman
Bass, Double Bass
Anne Collins
Rod Coombes
Percussion, Drums, Vocals
Ray Cooper
Charles Cronk
Synthesizer, Bass, Vocals
Claire Deniz
Tommy Eyre
John Ford
Guitar (Acoustic), Bass, Vocals, Producer
John Hawken
Organ, Synthesizer, Piano, Electric Piano, Mellotron
Alan Hawkshaw
Jon Hiseman
Tony Hooper
Guitar, Percussion, Autoharp, Tambourine, Vocals
Alan Parker
Bjarne Rostvold
Ronnie Verrell
Blue Weaver
Organ, Piano, Mellotron

Discography Click to Expand...Close