ProGGnosis Quick Search:     


UK-England UK-England

Jump to Full Discography
Genre: SubGenre - Style
Neo-Prog (Prog)
If You Like Airbridge listen to:
LaHost ♦  

Airbridge is another one of those bands that skirts prog and NWOHM. They released a single album and a 7" single before separating.
Sean Godfrey and Stephen Bennett went on the form LaHost.

Here is an 'official' bio:

The 1980’s British progressive rock band Airbridge original line-up featured Lorenzo Bedini (guitar, keyboard, vocals), Sean Godfrey (bass, vocals) and David Beckett (drums), later joined by Edward Percival (guitar, keyboard, vocals). Their first album “Paradise Moves” was released in the early 80’s. Later the line-up was extended temporarily to include Stephen J Bennett (keyboards), juxtaposing with the release of the single "Words & Pictures", appraised by John Peel, and was featured on the play list of the author Malcolm Bradbury on Radio 4’s Desert Island Discs.

The band toured many of the same venues as groups such as Marillion and Pallas, which were often sell out gigs, including several gigs at the Marquee at Wardour Street London. The original style of Bedini's songs included influences such as Barclay James Harvest and Camel, but fundamentally the unique Bedini sound is extremely evident. Later material composed collaboratively was more mainstream progressive rock predominantly influenced by Percival’s penmanship. The line-up changed in late 1983 following Bedini’s departure and the introduction of Geoff Chamberlain (guitars). Airbridge evolution progressed in the recording of a second (unreleased) album, “Beyond the Veil”, before breaking up and moving on to new endeavours.

Airbridge reformed in 2009 the line-up features Lorenzo Bedini (guitar, guitar synth, keyboards, harmonica, vocals), Sean Godfrey (bass, vocals), soon after reunited by Dave Allaway (drums, guitars, vocals) previously live sound engineer and artist for early Airbridge endeavours.